Each year the IETF awards up to six $3,000 scholarships to qualified post-high school students of all ages, to lessen the burden of higher education. The scholarships can be used for supplies, books or tuition at licensed, accredited institutions of higher education (including trade schools) and are paid directly to the educational institution.

Applying for an IETF Scholarship

• Review our Scholarship Description for requirements, criteria and required documentation.

• Complete an Application

• Submit all scholarship application materials electronically as one document to OR mail documents to IETF, Attn: Patrick McCartney, PO Box 14005, Lenexa, KS 66285. 

• All application materials MUST be submitted together for consideration.

Applications missing materials will make the application ineligible.

Annual Application Deadline  – May 1 with an award announcement by July 15.

Building the Scholarship Program

The Catherine S. Rice Scholarship Fund

Catherine S. Rice retired in September 2015, after 18 years of leadership as the IETF’s Executive Director. One of Cathy’s passions at the IETF was to recognize the achievements of students dealing with essential tremor. To honor and help continue Cathy’s work with college students for years to come, the IETF Board of Directors named the IETF’s scholarship program in her honor. The “Catherine S. Rice Scholarship Fund” is used to award as many as six scholarships each year to deserving students.

Scholarships are made possible by your donations and funds from the Lois and John Lichliter Estate. If you want to be involved in supporting students with essential tremor as they work toward their higher education goals, consider making a donation. For more information, please call the IETF office at (toll free) 888.387.3667.

We Connect Now is dedicated to uniting college students with disabilities in access to higher education and employment issues.